Gracias a los milongueros

– for giving me countless nights of incredible tandas;

– for teaching me that the embrace is more important than any steps;

– for educating me in los codigos;

– for inspiring me with their passion;

– for guiding me in my journey to discover the true essence of tango;

– for demonstrating how tango comes from the heart and not the head; and

– for helping me gain insight on why they are married to the milonga.

2 Responses to “Gracias a los milongueros”

  1. tangobob Says:

    They would say de nada, but it is something, it is important. Oh, how I wish you could bring your attitude here to the UK.
    I may print this post out and make every new student of tango read it. Maybe you can get to them in a way I cannot.
    Besos,
    Bob

  2. jantango Says:

    Bob,

    Neither you nor I can convince anyone to accept our sentiments about tango. It doesn’t matter how many years one has studied tango. Each has to find his own way and what tango means to them. Being exposed to the culture of tango in Buenos Aires certainly helps in the learning process. Unfortunately, so many aren’t convinced they need to immerse themselves in the culture and language in order to dance tango. They will dance it, but they will not experience the depth of its richness without dancing in the milongas of Buenos Aires, especially with a milonguero. I wouldn’t have been able to write my words of thanks to the milongueros without dancing with them for ten years.

Leave a comment