Hold me in your arms

Previous posts showed how women embrace their partners for tango.  Here are examples of how men hold women in their arms.   I haven’t experienced any of these more than once in the milongas; that’s because I’ve made a mental note not to accept another tanda.

The Slammer

His extended left arm is pulled back and used to maintain the space for dancing.  However, when he decides to turn without checking the floor, he slams his arm into other couples. 

The Wrist Breaker

I pity the women who have partners with this hold.  They seem to be bearing the weight of his entire arm.  This position certainly takes a toll on her wrist. 

The Canyengue

There is a photo of Rodolfo and Maria Cieri in Robert Thompson’s book, Tango: The Art History of Love with this embrace.  Rodolfo (October 30, 1932 – June 4, 2000) learned Canyengue from his father in the 1940s.  It’s been revived; see it at your local milonga. 

The Noncomformist

For those who want to be different.

Bob and Viv maintained each pose for a few seconds.  They wondered how couples manage a tanda in these uncomfortable positions.

9 Responses to “Hold me in your arms”

  1. keno26 Says:

    I have seen all of them, and from the photo’s I often how the man can feel the woman in her right hand with only her finger tips in his palm. When I dance with women who do not like the palm to palm hold I find it hard to listen.

  2. Michael Says:

    I don’t like the “The Canyengue” embrace. My left arm is far away from my body and my hand is above my shoulder. My arm is going to get tired. I don’t walk down the street with my arm above my shoulder. Why would I want to dance with my arm above my shoulder.

    Many times I hear teachers say “dancing is walking to music.” Nobody has been able to explain why you walk differently down the street than on the dance floor.

    The bigger question is why women put up with it.

  3. jantango Says:

    The man’s hand is above his head in The Canyengue embrace. It seems uncomfortable to me from either point of view, but it was used decades ago when the dance floors weren’t quite so crowded as they are today.

    We walk down the street for the purpose of going somewhere. We walk on the dance floor while the music takes us. Yes, dancing is walking to the music, but the objective isn’t to arrive somewhere else outside, but rather somewhere inside.

  4. Xwevla Says:

    A hold that is used very often is missing. The man puts his right hand on the right shoulder of the woman – like in this recording

    You can see it very clear from 00:25.

  5. jantango Says:

    I wouldn’t describe your example that way. I thought you meant in “Gavito” style with the back of the hand caressing the woman’s entire shoulder with his hand open. The man in the video moves his hand a bit and then returns it to the proper position with fingertips almost in her armpit. He adjusts slightly with his thumb touching her shoulder, but the hand remains in the standard position. A clear shot appears at 1:11. I gave some examples seen in Buenos Aires, and your video example is a traditional one.

  6. Chris Says:

    Xwevla wrote: “A hold that is used very often is … man puts his right hand on the right shoulder of the woman

    Very often?? Some mistake, surely.

    Your video’s setting is presumably some sort of dance class. This hold may be fine for that setting. But I very rarely see it used in milongas.

  7. jantango Says:

    Chris,
    This hold is common in Buenos Aires.

  8. Chris Says:

    Janis, if you have videos of a hold this extreme used in Buenos Aires milongas, not classes, please do show them.

  9. Xwevla Says:

    Chris, yes it probably a dance class. But i have really seen this holding very often in the Milonga using by the older Generation ( they are my preference ) and also use it. It feels very secure for me and the feedback was also positive by the older woman. With the younger woman it don’t work so good due to many reasons.

    jantango: I meant it as you described it. My english is so bad and I can not find the right words 🙂 It is good to know that it is also common in BA – where the real and only Milongueros/Milongueras are 🙂

Leave a comment