Front row advantage

It’s not the first time it has happened to me in a milonga nor will it be the last.  I’m referring to being invited for a tanda and then see the man intercepted by a woman in the front row.  I was absolutely positive that the man was walking across the floor to dance the Troilo tanda with me.  He is one of my regular partners in Lo de Celia Tango Club and knows my tanda preferences.  Before he had arrived at the corner where I enter the floor, another woman made a quick interception.  Being a gentleman, he danced the tanda with her.  I stayed in my chair while doing an instant mental replay.  I concluded there was no possible way she could have seen him from her table across the crowded floor after the first dance.  She just wanted to dance, and a suitable candidate approached her side of the field.  She was ready to get in the game.

The woman had what I’ll call front row advantage.  She was four tables to the left of where I was seated in the second row.  Those in the front row are usually the first ones dancing because they have an unobstructed view to the other side.  

What the woman didn’t bother to observe was that the man hadn’t made eye contact with her as he made his way along the edge of the floor past the dancers.  This is valuable information for the one who is the intended invitee for the tanda.   When in doubt, it is wise to stay in your chair until the man approaches and maintains eye contact with you.  Then you are positive he wants to dance with you.

When I danced the next tanda with the man, I asked him what had happened.  I knew that he wanted to dance with me.  He explained how she blocked him, and the interception was completed.  He continued as if she was his intended partner for the tanda.

Women in the front row have some advantage over those in the second row of tables.   Those of us in the second row get to dance, but we have to use our ingenuity.  Men often walk the aisle behind the second row to avoid being intercepted by those in the front row. 

Men want to be certain that a woman has indicated her acceptance to them before they leave the table and walk across the floor.  Dancing is a mutual agreement.

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Front row advantage”

  1. Janet Rieck Says:

    This has happened to me as well in my first visit to B.A. I was very certain the gentleman was asking me to dance, but someone came from
    the opposite side of me and grabbed him before I entered the dance floor. Women need to refrain from being rude, even in B.A. Not a fair
    way to play the game.

  2. jantango Says:

    They aren’t rude, just desperate to dance. Resting for a tanda isn’t an option for a barracuda.

  3. Arlene Says:

    I have more respect for barracudas Jan. They don’t always attack anything in front of them. 😉

  4. Irene Ho Says:

    Dear Janis,

    Some women are not content to be mere front row interceptees – they can’t rest until they have stalked the leader to the bar, to the washroom, as they are coming into the milonga, as they are leaving the milonga, etc. etc. At a one of the Toronto Tango Festivals a couple of years ago, one of our friends observed a whole row of followers standing around the “Maestros” table at the festival milonga waiting for any of the “Maestros” to look up, say something, cough, stand up or generally show any sign of life. God forbid that they did – because the lovely followers will swoop down on the poor “Maestro” en masse to out-intercept each other for a dance!

    It was almost more horrible than the dreaded “bouquet-toss” at a wedding!

    Irene

  5. Lilly Says:

    Interesting. During my stay in Buenos Aires I have not noticed any interceptions happening. Of course, I was not there long enough, and, I would imagine, for an inexperienced observer it is not easy to detect such an incident.
    However, I have witnessed numerous times a “front row woman” stand from her chair toward the approaching man, and the latter saying to her “No, not you”, and picking the one he initially intended to dance with.

  6. lina Says:

    this very thing happened to me at lo de celia three or four trips ago. there was a young australian woman sitting next to me who was so eager to dance she could hardly stay in her seat. she was vibrating like an excited terrier. i received a cabaceo from a man i quite liked to dance with. as he came towords me, she leapt into his arms. he was gentleman enough to dance the tanda with her. she was a terrible dancer. as he circled by my table, he gave me a wink and a nod to let me know it was me he had intended to dance with. i gave him a smile and a shrug. we ended up dancing three tandas that evening. he was sublime and a true gentleman. the australian girl got no more invitations and left soon after. i hope she reads up on the codigos and learns some milonga manners.

Leave a comment