Rosa Cove

August 30, 1928 —

photo credit Royce Chau (Hong Kong)

Rosita and Pocho (Roberto Rafael Carreras) met at a milonga when he was 59 and she was 61. She danced only with Pocho for twenty years.

I know that Rosita’s apartment is around the corner from Confiteria Ideal on Suipacha.  Since I go to concerts at the Gran Rex theater nearby, I rang her doorbell one day before going to a concert this month.  She didn’t answer the phone when I called, so I wanted to talk with the building janitor about her.  I rang her doorbell, and I was pleasantly surprised that her granddaughter Milva was there to tell me that Rosita is living with family in Martinez.  There is no gas in the building which prevents her from cooking.  Milva gave me a telephone number, and I called Rosita the next day.  We were on the phone for almost two hours, talking about her life with Pocho and the milongas.

This is my favorite video of Rosita and Pocho recorded on her 80th birthday in El Beso.  I can see why she doesn’t want to dance with another man.

Alito, Rosita and Pocho in Club Gricel (Dec 2005)

2 Responses to “Rosa Cove”

  1. tangogeoff Says:

    Loved it.
    Just loved it.

  2. Felicity Says:

    I’m reminded again of the difference between how tango is danced in Buenos Aires and how it is often taught (and therefore danced)
    differently elsewhere. In the one case it’s about the uniqueness of the partner, the music and (for the guy) the surrounding conditions, in the other it’s not.

Leave a Reply

