Rafael Caffé

January 8, 1936 – ? 2016

I took this photo in LdC a few days before Rafael’s 80th birthday.

It’s been months since I’ve been able to reach him by phone at his Montserrat apartment.  I didn’t want to assume the worst without confirmation.  Sunday was a cold, rainy day for an outing, but I went anyway.  When I arrived at Venezuela 770, there were two women in the entrance.  I motioned that I wanted to talk with them.  One lady knew that the apartment was vacant.  She rang a neighbor’s bell and asked about Rafael.  The lady said, he passed on last year.  That confirmed what I thought was the case.  I asked the woman to give my card to his daughter so that she could call me.  A dreary Sunday got even worse for me.

Leave a Reply

