Meet the senior tango champions of 2017

When I learned that Nina Chudoba (82) and Oscar Brusco (90) would be dancing at Nuevo Chique Milonga del Corazon, I marked my calendar.  I’ve been viewing their videos since February when one of them was posted by the YoTango Festival in Salon Canning.  How could it be that in 18 years in Buenos Aires, I had never seen or heard of them?  Better late than never.  I was eager to share their video with students.  I didn’t know where they lived until I met them on Tuesday in Nuevo Chique.  They looked taller in the videos, but both are quite short — I felt tall next to Nina.  She designs and sews her tango dresses.

We thought they would be dancing for us at 8:00, but we waited until 9:00 to see them.  It was worth the wait.  I had my camera to record their exhibition.  I couldn’t hold back tears during the vals.  They prove that dancing keeps us young.  They are so happy to talk to people.  They told me where and when they’ll be dancing next month.

2 Responses to “Meet the senior tango champions of 2017”

  1. R Says:

    hi Janis,
    I coudn’t get whether they announced the orchestra ? : first tango I would have said d Arienzo beginning 40′ no?
    Such a pleasure to watch them dance…

  2. jantango Says:

    D’Arienzo it is, Ronan.

Leave a comment