A change in my milonga routine

Instead of the usual ten block walk from my apartment, I walk 9-1/2 blocks to Obelisco Tango.  I’ve attended milongas there on various days of the week over its three-year history, but never regularly.  I made an abrupt change in my milonga routine last Sunday where I received a warm welcome from Dorita and Lola.  I shared a table with Lily and enjoyed her company.  Pier Aldo provided excellent tandas.  Mario showed up later after dancing a few hours nearby and invited me for the Gobbi tanda.

dscn8845

I returned on Monday for El Maipu organized by Lucy Alberto and Dany Rodriguez.  I sent them an email that I would be there at 19 hs.  I joined Ilina at her table.  She radiates positive energy and smiles all the time.   Ilina and I have two things in common — dancing tango and resale shopping.

dscn8841

I hoped I’d see Ismael Heljalil, and he was there.  He said he was down with flu for six weeks and still had a cough that wouldn’t quit.  But there he was, dancing tanda after tanda.   Someone takes care of uploading photos to his Facebook.

dscn8843

I made a point of stopping at Beto Ayala’s table.  He is still working and attends El Maipu on Monday.  Several years ago I joined Beto and his wife Teresa every Saturday at a milonga.

dscn8846

I discovered this victrola on display, and I’ll bet the DJ is overjoyed with the technology available today for music.

dscn8847

I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw Aura Teotassonian arrive at El Maipu. I haven’t seen her in years and have wonderful memories of  parties at her home when she partnered Lolo.  She loves Canaro because that was Lolo’s favorite orchestra. I managed to get a shot of camera-shy Aura before she went home.  Whenever I pass an Arredo store in the city, it reminds me of Aura because it’s her family business.  She’s such a lovely person, and it made me so happy to see her again.

dscn8848

This interesting piece of artwork hangs over the bar, and the walls display many others at Obelisco Tango.

dscn8849

I enjoyed another night of great music and dancing in my new milonga home.

4 Responses to “A change in my milonga routine”

  1. Felicity Says:

    What a nice post. Please say hi to Ilina. I loved meeting her.

  2. Mario Rinald Says:

    nice local color

  3. douglasjrhodes Says:

    I found out about your blog with TangoAngeles & Ronaldo. Happy to hear that you found a new home. I enjoy reading your posts as Argentine Tango is flowing 24hrs a day in my blood – one day, I hope to be worthy of a tanda with you at your new home milonga. “Tangotails”/Douglas.

  4. jantango Says:

    I look forward to meeting you on the dance floor. My schedule is Sunday and Wednesday at Obelisco, Thursday at El Arranque.

Leave a Reply

