Taking care of business, not people

I attended a new milonga last night in my neighborhood with no entrada.  I arrived by 7:00.  There was no one at the door to welcome me.  I went directly to the lady’s room to change my shoes, where there was no attendant on duty.  Then I went to greet a friend at his table.  No one was taking care of seating dancers, so I sat near my friend’s table.

The music was excellent by a DJ I know.  There were very few couples dancing, unusual for an opening with no entrada.  I counted 50 people in attendance, when the salon holds 200.  I knew about the opening only by word of mouth since it wasn’t listed on Hoy-milonga.com

I knew most of the dancers and enjoyed many tandas during three hours.  Others said the poor turnout was a surprise, and the lack of publicity was probably the reason. The first night can decide its success or failure.  Word gets around quickly.  One milonguero didn’t think the milonga would last another week, let alone until closing time.

The organizers stood in the background all night and didn’t welcome or socialize with their guests.

I’m sad to report that this opening was in Lo de Celia where two weekly milongas are enough for most dancers. The regulars go Wednesday and Sunday evening.  Friday and Saturday nights have different dancers including more couples.  The Saturday milonga has a different organizer and hours this week.  Anyone knows that dancers like a change of scenery.  No one goes to the same place two evenings in a row.  Announcing the Thursday opening to the Wednesday crowd wasn’t enough to fill the seats.

We love our milonga home and family at Lo de Celia, but it’s not warm and welcoming anymore.  When you invite guests to your home, you make them feel welcome.  You ask if there is anything you can do for them while they’re in your home.  I’m afraid that the new homeowners are too busy with new construction to take care of their guests. I hope they figure it out soon what it takes to manage the successful milonga entrusted to them by Celia Blanco.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Taking care of business, not people”

  1. embrujamiento/tangoarchive.com Says:

    Hi there. Interesting posts (two). I noticed some of the same developments as you and feel bad they apparently fired the tall girl who took care of welcoming us. I now prefer going to milongas where the hosts are visible, recognizable, personal. It’s sad, because Lo de Celia is a special place, with great music and dancers. I hope the tide will turn for the better.

  2. jantango Says:

    It doesn’t take a genius to figure out that the dancers ARE their business! Without them, they have no milonga. They’re not doing anything to take care of them.

Leave a Reply

