We are family

I was dancing the tropical tanda yesterday with Carmelo.  It’s the one break from tango on Wednesday at Lo de Celia.  We were doing merengue when, suddenly, a man behind me stepped backward and landed on my right foot.  I yelped and cringed with pain.  The man apologized.  Carmelo helped me hobble to my table.

I wanted to put ice on my foot immediately.  Dany Borelli, our DJ, went into the kitchen for ice.  Johnny, the waiter, emptied a package of napkins so he could use the plastic bag for an ice pack.  I kept it on my foot for ten minutes.

Carmelo came over to see how I was doing, and so did the man who injured me.  My foot was fine with only a small area of torn skin.

So many passed by my table to ask how I was after the incident.  I hadn’t realized until later that my yelping was heard above the music, and everyone must have noticed me leaving the floor.

I don’t know much more than the names of some dancers, if that, but the concern expressed by so many is why we are like family at Lo de Celia.

 

One Response to “We are family”

  1. tangogeoff Says:

    😊

Leave a Reply

