Felix Picherna

October 16, 1939 — January 22, 2016

felix

La Milonga de los Consagrados began at Italia Unita during 1999.  The musicalizador was Felix Picherna.  He sat at a little table on the stage with his box of cassette tapes.  You knew what was coming next because Felix announced the tandas with great ceremony.  I didn’t know that was the way it was done years ago in the confiterias downtown.  I should have paid closer attention.  Felix announced, let’s dance to … and then the titles of each tune in the tanda.  Others were probably paying attention to him, but I wasn’t.

A year or so later Felix went to Italy to work in the milongas.  In May 2001, I visited Rome.  The first night I arrived, my B&B hostess took me to a milonga.  Lo and behold, there was Felix handling the music.  Two weeks later when I arrived in Milan, there was Felix at the helm of the milonga, announcing each tanda as he always did in Buenos Aires.  He traveled from one city to another where he was hired by a milonga organizer and slept on the train.

reposted from 10/2013

2 Responses to “Felix Picherna”

  1. R. Bononno Says:

    Wonderful. Did you see the interview with him? It’s here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZXlAziV8yFo and very amusing.

  2. KRIS HANSEN Says:

    I was just about to write to you with the video (link above beat me!) generously shared on YouTube. It is a real treasure. I had shared on Facebook in a couple of places: I felt such a pang of sadness reading the news of his death 24 hrs earlier, and had wished all these many last years to hear him again somewhere in the world as DJ, announcing all the orchestras, temas, tandas so enthusiastically, as I remember from more than 15 years ago. I hoped to find him in Italy (or elsewhere), and it was not to be. I have such strong memories and so much appreciation for the way he chose to DJ. I have missed it ever since the last milonga where I experienced his live teaching from the elevated DJ booth.

Leave a Reply

