Roberto Calaza

April 13, 1941 — January 5, 2016

DSCN7988

Only a month ago, I asked El Gallego for his permission to record a tanda in Lo de Celia.  Before leaving that night, I showed him a video.  Then he asked me to dance, and I apologized that I wasn’t wearing my dance shoes.  It didn’t matter to him.  I will never forget the two tangos of Juan D’Arienzo with him.

Last Sunday I gave him this photo with his friends in the milonga.  He gave me a big kiss on the cheek.

Jorge, Pocho, Luis , El Gallego

Ernesto Jorge De Gouvea – Alfredo Carlos “Pocho” Pizarro – Luis Ferre – Roberto “El Gallego” Calaza

One Response to “Roberto Calaza”

  1. Francesca Halfacree Says:

    So sorry to hear this news, he was one of my favourite dancers, great musicality & cadencia, always very polite & respectful.

Leave a Reply

