Use it or lose it: Dancing makes you smarter

Where do we have to make split-second decisions?  On a crowded dance floor.  Those decisions increase neural connectivity in our brains.

If you can’t take classes or go out dancing four times a week, then dance as much as you can.  More is better.

Read this article by Richard Powers

4 Responses to “Use it or lose it: Dancing makes you smarter”

  1. lina Says:

    Some of us who don’t live in a big city or Buenos Aires don’t always have the chance to dance three nights a week. In my small town, I am pretty sure I am the only Argentine tango dancer. Next town over, we have a small loyal group that dances together once a week. And two regular milongas a month. Not a lot of dancing. I practice three hours a week alone at the gym. Good for learning the music, not great for knowing how to dance with a good leader. This is why I will soon be making my eighth trip to Buenos Aires. In an ideal world, I could dance every night. This is why I keep returning to Buenos Aires. Next trip, two months.

  2. jantango Says:

    Then pass along the article to other dancers who need to be smart about dancing more often.

    After reading the article, I decided I need to dance more. I have no excuse living in Buenos Aires, the ideal place to dance every day and night of the week.

  3. Felicity Says:

    Lina, I salute you. And I sympathise. I run a new and tiny milonga weekly but you can count the number of dancers in my town on one hand. Luckily there are other dance groups an hour away. I like to hear about other people in similar positions and how they keep going.

    I dance all the time in my kitchen and in the local skatepark while waiting for my kids when there aren’t people around – the bars and ridges are fun for balance. It’s easier with the music and beats standing around in the Scottish cold.

  4. zizi Says:

    That’s one more reason to spend my holidays every year milongueando like a fool in Buenos Aires🙂

Leave a Reply

