Body language

DSCN6436

I don’t know about this cabeceo thing.  I can’t stare at men I don’t know.

 

DSCN6434

If one of you guys doesn’t invite me very soon, I’m going home.

 

DSCN6432

I’m bored.

 

DSCN6433

I love this orchestra, and I’m ready to dance.

6 Responses to “Body language”

  1. Mikhail Says:

    Very illustrative pictures! But last time there is one more popular posture at the milongas – “me and my smartphone”. So we have a joke that if cabeceo doesn’t work it’s better to use for the invitation facebook or SMS.

  2. Michael Says:

    Absolutely correct that body language speaks louder than anything a dancer can possibly say. The impact is multiplied when women decide to talk to each other and send a message they don’t want dance at the moment.

    A lot of women would be surprised that men observe their body language and come to the wrong conclusion.

  3. R. Bononno Says:

    Excellent. Very witty. You could do an entire series on “eye avoidance” techniques: staring at the ceiling, staring at the floor, gazing dreamily into space, animated conversation with a girlfriend, reading the menu, gazing at the center of the dance floor, sweeping the eyes rapidly around the room.

  4. jantango Says:

    Mikhail,
    Thanks for pointing out the prevalence of phones in the milongas. A young man told me they are an addictive habit. I believe he is correct, and I don’t use one.

    Sitting out a tanda is often spent checking messages. I see women doing this more often than men. Technology robs us of the present moment and distracts us with something that seems more important, but isn’t.

  5. jantango Says:

    Thanks, you just did it.

  6. Patricia Says:

    Totally agree with all of the above. It may also be worth considering why people behave this way at a milonga.

    Perhaps some men and women use this body language, including mobile phones, as a type of shield if they lack the confidence required to put oneself out there at a milonga. For those shrinking violets, I have found a suggestion http://www.tangosalonadelaide.blogspot.com.ar/2014/10/to-shrinking-violets-of-milonga.html

Leave a Reply

