Tango and minimalism: how many pairs of shoes are enough?

I know a milonguera who has 100+ pairs of shoes for tango.  Another milonguera admitted her collection is over 250 pairs of shoes, although not all of them are for dancing.  A room in her apartment has nothing but shoes.  I know a minimalist milonguera who owns only two pairs of tango shoes.

A few months ago, I decided to go through my shoe collection and sort out the ones I didn’t wear or that were uncomfortable.  I sold five pairs at a consignment shop and donated the rest.   That process cut my shoe collection in half and reduced the number of pairs for tango from 16 to 8 pairs.  The remaining pairs are my old favorites that I’ve worn for years and hopefully for many more.

DSCN6390

How many pairs are enough?  That’s for you to decide.  How many pairs do you need?

One Response to “Tango and minimalism: how many pairs of shoes are enough?”

  1. tangogeoff Says:

    Sell off half my shoe collection? Could I spare an organ, instead?

Leave a Reply

