Cortina mood swings

There was an excellent post recently about the cortina music in the milongas. 

I attended La Milonga de Elsita on Friday where Gabriela Laddaga has charge of the music.  I hadn’t been to the milonga for a long time.  Her tandas were excellent, but her cortina music was a  mood killer.  Each one was a new tune with the volume turned up too high.  I used earplugs during the milonga.  At one point, several couples were dancing to one of the tunes as if it was the rock ‘n’ roll tanda.  A regular partner nearby invited me to dance.  There we were dancing to what we both thought was the beginning of a tanda.   After a few seconds, we heard vals.  Oh, it wasn’t the rock ‘n’ roll tanda at all.  This had never happened to us before, especially not at Lo de Celia where there is only one cortina.  We danced the vals tanda.  If two seasoned dancers can’t tell the difference, then the deejay needs to adjust.  I don’t see why she has to play new tune for every cortina during the milonga.  Perhaps someone can enlighten me.  I felt like someone threw a bucket of cold water on me after each tanda.  The loud music killed the mood of the entire milonga.  I mentioned this to two men who were leaving the milonga as I was, and they both agreed the cortina music at La Milonga de Elsita needs improvement.

Last night I attended Lo de Celia with the best deejay in Buenos Aires.  I’m not the only one who says that about Daniel Borelli.  His cortina music is a mood lifter.  All I know from Dany is that it’s a popular tune in Portuguese.  It’s the nicest music for walking off the floor.  I found myself humming the tune while walking ten blocks to my apartment.  And most importantly, I was happy during and after the milonga.  Cortinas do matter to me.

Tags:

4 Responses to “Cortina mood swings”

  1. Alan Jones Says:

    Janis,I was told that the the cortina is the same piece of music used,and not to be danced to,enabling the floor to clear. It is just my opinion,but there are many lovely pieces of music(non-danceable) that coukd be used for cortinas,but personally I find the same cortina track a bit boring! As you say,Janis,they make up part of the evening.Here in England where all types of music are played,it can be a mess,musically speaking,:-(.

  2. Chris Says:

    Janis wrote: “her cortina … Each one was a new tune .

    I’m surprised to hear anyone is doing that in a BA milonga. It is like a theater bringing down a different decorated curtain after each act of the play.

    Where it happens in the UK, it makes a bit more sense. It provides entertainment for those paying customers that have little interest in what’s happening on the stage. 🙂

  3. Janet Rieck Says:

    She is one of the best DJs in B.A. I have heard cortinas in milongas I do not like as well. But the music they play for dancing is much more important. You might want to tell her that you are not happy with her cortina music. She is a very nice person…we lover her. I am sure she will take it into consideration. That milonga is a very good one to go to.

  4. Tango Salon Adelaide Says:

    Janis, I love Dany Borelli’s musical selections. He’s my favourite DJ, too.

    However, I also very much enjoy some other DJs, and some of them successfully use a variety of cortinas. I think I’m not alone in saying that I like a bit of variety. But the cortinas need to be well chosen, so that they don’t feel like “a bucket of water”. In my view, each cortina needs to fit the mood of the preceding tanda. A very upbeat cortina, after an intense tanda of tangos would not work.

    PP

Leave a Reply

