Shut up!

I look forward to dancing at Lo de Celia twice a week on Wednesday and Sunday evening.   I enjoy watching the dancing and listening to the great music provided by Dany Borelli.

Yesterday, two local women whom I’ve never seen before sat next to me.  They talked constantly as if they were at a bar having a drink.  The conversation made it impossible for me to hear the music, so I finally had to say something to them.  They agreed that a dance salon is for dancing, but their conversation continued nonstop.  A couple of times I had to move to another table.  Celia asked me what was wrong, so I told her about the chatterboxes.  She replied, tell them to shut up.

Later while browsing tango blogs,  I found this recent post about sacred silence at a milonga.

There is so much unnecessary chatter these days at the milongas.  It’s so easy to get caught up in the constant stream of noise that robs us of the present moment.

4 Responses to “Shut up!”

  1. Chris Says:

    Janis wrote: “There is so much unnecessary chatter these days at the milongas.

    So true!

    But Janis, a special case is the talking one hears at typical London ‘milongas’ – on the floor.

    The talking that goes something like this. “No, giro… no, not ocho, that’s wrong… backward boleo, no I said backward… gancho, GANCHO!…”.

    Unnecessary? No, sadly this is highly necessary for what classeros hereabouts call Tango! 🙂

  2. jantango Says:

    I use ear plugs when walking the streets or using the buses, but now I need them at the milonga.

  3. Michael Says:

    Though not as noisy, I see dancers reading email and texting responses. Technology, which is supposed to make life easier, has the opposite effect because people can’t stand to be disconnected from the world. Some people just don’t know how to relax.

    Those women aren’t going to dance because they send a signal they would rather talk than dance.

  4. sonia Says:

    I advocate that sacred silence topic but how many are willing to learn that milonga is a special space, not another disco pub?

Leave a Reply

