Losing the feeling

Nelida Rodriguez, an original cast member of Tango Argentino, had this to say about young dancers in an interview for La Milonga Argentina magazine:

My objections are because I think the kids are too concerned with technique, and they’re losing the feeling and intensity.  They don’t reach me.

2 Responses to “Losing the feeling”

  1. Chris Says:

    Thanks for that, Janis.

    I think the kids are too concerned with technique.”

    “preoccupied” might be a better translation (original below).

    Many kids are in it for the work. They need technique to sell the tango de workshop. Tango de salon’s feeling is inessential.

    From here:

    ¿Te gusta el tango de hoy?
    Si, me gusta. Tengo mis objeciones, pero me parece muy atractivo. Mis objeciones pasan porque creo que los chicos están demasiado preocupados por la técnica, que para mí es valiosísima, pero me parece que en esa preocupación por la técnica están perdiendo el sentimiento y la intensidad. A veces, les digo que se la jueguen aunque salga desprolijo, pero que se la jueguen porque hay parejas maravillosas que son fabulosas, pero no me llegan. La coreografía no tiene que ser una sucesión de pasos, tiene que tener un sentido. Siempre hay un encuentro, un desarrollo y un final. A Germán Cornejo, mi ahijado, le aconsejo que no empiece con todo porque es tan obvio que puede hacer lo que quiera, porque después qué haces, tenes que matarla.

    .

  2. jantango Says:

    The Spanish dictionary gives these definitions of the word.
    preocupacion: worry, anxiety, concern.

    I think “concerned” is more appropriate for the translation than preoccupied.

Leave a Reply

