Società Unione Operai Italiani

Salon de Societá Unione Operai Italiani salon de Societá Unione Operai Italiani 2

DSCN5277

Società Unione Operai Italiani,  located at Sarmiento 1374 in San Nicolas, was founded in 1874.  The grand Salon Augusteo was a venue for tango during the 1950s.  The salon finally closed in April 2005 with its final milonga.  Law protects the building for historical preservation since 2008.  This is considered one of the most important buildings in Argentina for Italians.  Virginio Colombo, architect from Milan, renovated the salon for cultural events in 1913.  In 2012, the building was bought by the Church of Scientology in Argentina which will renovate and restore this masterpiece.

One Response to “Società Unione Operai Italiani”

  1. José Luis Remualdi Says:

    JUGUETES NEGROS

    Negro atuendo el mío para la noche negra.
    Brazos abiertos a la fantasía
    que me traía vampiresas de la luna,
    sin restarle pasión a las felinas
    noctámbulas que me esperaban
    tras las cortinas del “Augusteo”, aquel salón,
    contoneándose a mi arribo,
    aros de fuego fatuo mis ojos y fusta
    de imposición sensual en porte yo,
    atuendo negro en la noche negra
    y mi copa de estrellas destellando,
    elevándome sobre toda competencia,
    llenándome de universo el corazón.
    ¿Quién, quién vivió la noche bruna como yo?,
    si ni hoy, hallo filosofía nochera que alcance
    los tobillos de mis botas negras.
    A veces abro mi compartimiento del ayer
    y contemplo mis juguetes negros.

Leave a Reply

