Ismael Niella

February 1935 – April 14, 2013

Ismael Niella

I usually take my camera with me to the milonga.  I arrived early one day and stopped by the cafeteria at the gas station across the street from Lo de Celia where milongueros watch futbol on television before the milonga.   Two milongueros arrived, one of whom I hadn’t seen for a long time.  I asked if I could take a photo, and then they asked if I would take one of them together and make copies.  I finally got around having prints made of these and other photos.  I brought the photos with me last night to Lo de Celia.  I gave a print of the photo below to Norberto with his friend Ismael.  He told me Ismael would not get to see the photo, but he would pass it on to his sister.  They were friends for 20 years.

Norberto Lopez & Ismael Niella

2 Responses to “Ismael Niella”

  1. Gimenita (@gichu16) Says:

    Gracias señor Norberto, no se porque esta pagina aparecio. Mi papa siempre hablaba de usted. su pasion era el tango. El se fue sin aviso, me dejo con el corazon roto pero siento el consuelo de haber estado siempre a su lado. Gracias.
    Gimena la hija de Ismael.

  2. jantango Says:

    The previous comment is from Ismael’s daughter who recently found the post and photo. She thanks Norberto for his passion of tango. Her father left her without warning and a broken heart, but she knew he was always in the milonga with Norberto.

    These comments are the reason I started Tango Chamuyo, dedicated to the milongueros.

Leave a Reply

