Tango in La Boca

I thought I knew where I was going on Saturday afternoon.  I took the #53 bus to Caminito in La Boca where I’ve gone many times only to discover that I had a long walk under the highway to my destination, La Usina del Arte.  Unfortunately, I arrived late and missed the performance of Alberto Podesta.  Friends found me in the crowd, and we got in line for the next concert by the Chamber Orchestra of Ushuaia with Rodolfo Mederos, bandoneonist, as soloist.

DSCN4637

The old power plant is now a state-of-the art concert hall with perfect acoustics.  The hall seats 1,500 in three levels surrounding the stage.  The audience was attentive for this free concert, part of the annual Summer in the City festival.  There isn’t a bad seat in the house.

DSCN4638

Rodolfo Mederos gave a magnificent performance.

DSCN4640

And his encore solo was incredible.

What appears as a vertical building facade in this photo is actually a mirror reflection of a horizontal structure.  Sit on it and you see yourself  in the mirror  hanging on the side of a building.

DSCN4643

The milonga at La Usina had a large crowd with many watching the dancing.

DSCN4644

There were women dancing with women…

DSCN4652\

And men dancing with men…

DSCN4664

And a mother dancing with her daughter…

DSCN4671

The biggest surprise for me was two milongueras whom I haven’t seen in years — Ana Gomez and Pilar Segura — because they no longer go to the milongas.

DSCN4673

This couple gets the prize for passion.

DSCN4684

The mirror gives an overhead view of the milonga floor.

DSCN4681

The concerts and milongas at La Usina continue this weekend.

One Response to “Tango in La Boca”

  1. Carol Conway Says:

    Lovely…

Leave a Reply

