Cachivache

This is one of my favorite words  (ka chee baa chay). Roberto Angel Pujol used it with me like a term of endearment. Roberto is gone, but the word reminds me of him.

A new tango musical group call themselves El Cachivache Tango Orquesta. I finally found the meaning in a dictionary of lunfardo — a useless thing or person.  I still like the word.

3 Responses to “Cachivache”

  1. Nancy Says:

    Not lunfardo. Standard Spanish but the word ends in an “e”.

  2. jantango Says:

    Thank you. It is in both dictionaries.

  3. tropicalplague Says:

    Oh, I liked it more when it ended in an I. 😉 Neat word, up there with “chamuyo.”

Leave a Reply

