Life is a box of chocolates

Just for the record, I love chocolate, especially dark chocolate.  When I received a gift of chocolates this month from Lithuania, I waited a few days before opening the box.  I could have eaten the entire box in a couple of days, but limited myself to one or two pieces each day.  Each piece aroused my palate and evoked sounds of delight without fail.  I thought of the famous line from the movie Forrest Gump: My mama always said life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.

Isn’t the milonga like a box of chocolates?  We never know with whom we will dance or to what orchestra, or which dances.  I expect every tanda to be as memorable as this box of chocolates.

3 Responses to “Life is a box of chocolates”

  1. Pat Says:

    I couldn’t agree more, Janis.
    At times at a milonga I may feel disappointed that a certain dancer isn’t present, or worse still, I may hear that he’s moved overseas for good. Later during the same milonga I’ll dance with someone previously unknown to me who turns out to be a complete delight! You just never know.

  2. Cathy Says:

    I’ve said the very same thing myself! I can go to the same milonga week after week and it’s always different… sometimes you get dark chocolate covered nuts (my favourite), and other nights they are simply not there.

  3. jantango Says:

    There are nights when one delicious morsel (tanda) is enough to satisfy me completely.

Leave a Reply

