Old goats and spring chickens

Sunday, March 4:

As she passed by my table in Lo de Celia, I noted it was only 9:30, and she hadn’t danced as many tandas as usual.

Me:  You hardly danced tonight.  Are you going home early?

Felisa:  Yes.  You never know with these old goats.

Me:  I’m having a wonderful night.  I’m staying.

Then I thought to myself, I’m no spring chicken myself.  Where would we dance if it wasn’t for these old goats who give us pleasure on the dance floor.  I’ll dance as long as they’re around and invite me.  The tandas with Clodomiro Ortega and Mario Papasaba were enough to satisfy me for the night, but there were others with Tito, Alberto, Eduardo, Julio, Anibal and Rogelio.

Sunday, March 11:

Was it the music or me?  I was ready to leave at 9:00 after only two tandas, one of them was totally uninspiring.  I talked myself into staying until the jazz/rock tanda at 10:30 with Julio.  It perked me up a bit, and then I went home.  It was a night to forget.

_________________________________

old goat: 1. an elderly man who is disliked, especially for being mean to or disapproving of younger people.  2. a lecherous man, especially one considerably older than those to whom he is attracted.

spring chicken:  1.  a young chicken, especially a broiler or fryer.   2. Slang: a young person.

Leave a Reply

