The new Hugo Diaz of tango

Hugo Diaz  made his mark on tango music.  Franco Luciani is doing the same.  I found information about his recent concerts and decided to attend.  Friday was folklore music, and Saturday was tango.  What attracted me was the instrument — harmonica.

My father’s harmonicas have gathered dust on my bookshelf for years.  My new year’s resolution for 2012 was to learn something about this little instrument and maybe learn to play a tango or two.  I thought that couldn’t be too difficult with all my years of musical training for piano and oboe.  I turned to YouTube for beginning instruction.  What I didn’t know was that I had to start memorizing from the start, not an easy task for one used to reading sheet music.

Franco Luciani is an artist with international recognition.  Hearing him in concert was an incredible experience.

2 Responses to “The new Hugo Diaz of tango”

  1. Aurore Says:

    we’ll check on your harmonica skills in a few months 😉 good luck for memorizing !

  2. jantango Says:

    Oh, dear. I had better start practicing! I may start learning the Ocarina you gave me first. This video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3sw76wHUmk4 shows how it’s played.

Leave a Reply

