Ismael Heljalil

August 30, 1930 —

Ismael is adored by the ladies and admired by the men.  What a kind soul he is.  We are blessed having him at Lo de Celia on Wednesday.

Here is the interview I recorded in September 2000.

One Response to “Ismael Heljalil”

  1. delmartango Says:

    My instructor pointed out Señor Heljalil at the first milonga I ever attended in Buenos Aires. Now, rather shamefully, I remember how I thought he was just some old dude shuffling around. But the reverence with which she spoke about him, about the way he danced, and about the way she made her feel, changed my mentality about tango completely. Seeing his photo brought me back to that moment. Thank you for this blog. I’m looking forward to reading all of it!

Leave a Reply

