A tango journey

My tango journey began exactly twenty years ago in Chicago.  I heard about a dancer who had been to Buenos Aires to learn tango, and his teacher/partner had moved away.  I asked if he needed a new partner.  We began meeting twice a week for practice that always began walking to the music.  I was organizing a ballroom dance studio event featuring tango, and my partner prepared a choreography to “Copacabana” recorded by Osvaldo Pugliese, but I don’t know how we ever danced to it. 

I attended the Stanford Tango Week in July 1993 to study with Juan Carlos Copes.

A few months later I began teaching tango classes based on what I had learned from my Argentine teachers.  

It wasn’t until my 1996 trip to Buenos Aires that I had my first glimpse of tango in the milongas.  It was an eye-opener, to say the least.  I’m grateful to the teachers who guided my first steps in tango.  The milongueros helped me discover its essence.

3 Responses to “A tango journey”

  1. b Says:

    Great stuff. Thanks for sharing. Is that your butt or his knee in the drawing?

  2. jantango Says:

    Who knows? Someone copied tango artwork and put my face on it.

  3. Joe Grohens Says:

    HI Jan!

    Congratulations on 20 years of tango!!

    Your post is what tango history is all about, I think. Personal, localized, the result of experiences we don’t quite control. Yet an urge is always leads us toward the roots.

    Reminds me of my own history, but you have always been ahead of me, and I appreciate your generosity about your experiences.

    Joe

Leave a Reply

