Ricardo Eduardo Cacheiro

March 22, 1929 — September 30, 2010

I knew that Ricardo retired (from work and the milongas) several years ago and moved to Villa Gesell where he had a vacation apartment.  I came across the video cassette of an informal chat I filmed with Ricardo and Alito in 2001.  This January I searched the internet and found a listing for his phone in Villa Gesell.  The man who answered said he was renting the apartment and didn’t know anything about the owner.  That information was bad news.  Two days before writing this post I searched his name in Villa Gesell and found an announcement of his death.  I missed talking with him by only a few months. 

Ricardo’s statements about what tango meant to him are profound.  If you know Castellano, you can hear what he has to say and see him dancing milonga at Club Bailable Juvenil.

Update June 6, 2011:  Today I received a message from his daughter Laura thanking me for this homenaje to Ricardo.  Her message made my day!

Leave a Reply

