Salvador Angel Molinari

Photo by Guillermo Thorp

July 23, 1937 – January 30, 2010

I received the news via email that Tito died in January.  We met in Confiteria Ideal during one of my early visits to Buenos Aires.  Tito had some knowledge of English, so we chatted between dances.  He presented me with a collection of his writings with a tango theme.  Tito was passionate about tango and was always present in the milongas.  Someone with a friendly smile for everyone isn’t easily forgotten.

In 2006, Solo Tango TV broadcast a series of programs entitled, Codigos de Milongas, and Tito appeared on the April 15 program.  Tito commented on various scenes of a young man getting ready to go to a milonga and how is conducted himself in La Viruta.  I noted some of Tito’s comments: If a woman spends hours getting ready for the milonga, a man should do the same and wear good shoes, not sneakers.  You have to fall in love and feel what you dance.  Don’t forget to use deodorant.  Going to a woman’s table to invite her is obligating her to dance.  She might have a commitment with someone that she doesn’t make obvious. 

I would like to share one page from his writings he gave me in November 1998.  He always wrote from the heart . . . the same way he danced.

El pasador de discos

Hoy quiero decirte cosas a vos pasador de discos de tango ó como se dice ahora:  Diskjokey

Que de tu lugar de privilegio, sos el encargardo de hacernos gozar y motivarnos para salir a bailar, vos que manejás las alegrias, las angustias, las tristezas, con solo manipular botones, vos que todo lo junás de esa altura en donde siempre estas ubicado.

Cuantos personajes habrás conocido desde tu lugar de trabajo?  A cuantos habrás visito dar sus primeros pasos, cuantos idilios por tus ojos habrán pasado y cuantos veces te habrás quedado con ganas de salir a milonguear ese tango que estabas pasando.

Las nostalgias de la noche que vos no podes gozar porque estás laburando, te encontrarán de madrugada y con los ojos cansados.  Que saben los demás, esos, los que están bailando, de tus tristezas del alma, que nadie quiere escuchar.

Ellos son pedirán a Troilo, a Tanturi, a Caló, a Pugliese ó a Di Sarli y a veces aplaudirán cuando el último Tango hayas pasado.  Por todo eso quise escribirte a vos pasador de discos de Tango y decirte: Gracias, gracias porque yo tambien a tu compás he bailado.

The disc smuggler

Today I want to say things to you smuggler of tango records or as you are called now: Disk Jockey

In your privileged place, you are in charge of giving us pleasure and motivate us to go to dance, you manage the joys, the anguishes, the sadness, by only manipulating buttons, you do all of this from the height where you are always located.

How many personalities have you known from your place of work?  How many have you seen take their first steps, how many love affairs have passed before your eyes and how many time have you desired to stay to dance the tango that you were playing?

The nostalgia of the night that you couldn’t enjoy because you were working, they find you in the morning and with your tired eyes.  You know the others, those who are dancing, from the sadness of their soul, that nobody wants to listen to.

They ask for Troilo, Tanturi, Calo, Pugliese or Di Sarli and at times applaud you when the last tango is being played.  For all this I wanted to write to you smuggler of tango disks and say: thank you, thank you because I have danced to your rhythms.

Video

6 Responses to “Salvador Angel Molinari”

  1. Irene Says:

    Dear Janis,

    We saw Tito perform at the first milonga we ever went to in Buenos Aires – Glorias Argentinas. And we saw him almost every time we went to Leonesa. We’re sorry to hear news of his passing.

    Irene and Man Yung

  2. Lilly Says:

    How very sad. He was such a nice person, and a very beautiful dancer.

  3. Analia Molinari Says:

    Hola! Soy la hija de Tito, y se que mi viejito, debe estar bailando un hermoso tango de “Di Sarli” en algun lugar del cosmo.
    Gracias por recordarlo.
    En breve voy a hacer un blog con sus poemas….
    De todo corazón les agradezco en nombre de mi familia las hermosas palabras que tiene sobre mi papá.
    Saludos desde chile.
    Analia Molinari.
    Les dejo mi mail: analia.molinari@gmail.com

    Translation by jantango
    Hi, I’m the daughter of Tito and know that my old man should be dancing a beautiful tango of Di Sarli somewhere in the cosmos.
    Thanks for remembering him. I am going to write a blog with his poems. From my heart I thank you on behalf of my family for the beautiful words you have about my father. Greetings from Chile. Analia Molinari. I leave you my email.

  4. Andrea Molinari Says:

    Hola a todos los que en este momento estan recordando a mi papá!!!. En mi caso particular puedo decir que fue el Mejor Compañero que pude tener en mi vida, siempre dispuesto, siempre con una palabra de aliento y de ayuda, con una crítica que siempre fue constructiva. Me acompañó en cada paso de mi vida hasta dejando de lado su propia vida… que mas puedo decir…. la vida me dió la oportunidad de poder acompañarlo hasta el final cuando me necesitó, con la compañía, la palabra, el aguante y la ilusión de que creer que nunca lo tenía era grave. Espero papi, haber sido aunque sea un poquito de todo lo que vos fuiste para mi. Te aseguro que voy a cuidar de mami como vos me pediste siempre.
    Te amo con el corazón, y agradecemos juntos con mi mamá y mi hermana, el hermosisimo homenaje que le están haciendo. Esto es precisamente lo único que mi papá hubiera esperado, y ustedes se lo están regalando. GRACIAS DE VERDAD Y HASTA SIEMPRE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Translation by jantango
    Hi, every one of you who in this moment are remembering my father. In my particular case I can say that he was the best companion that I could have in my life, always ready, always with a word of help, with constructive criticism. He accompanied me in each step of my life until leaving. What more can I say, the life he gave me, the opportunity to be able to accompany him until the end when he needed me, with company, word, fortitude, and the illusion to never believe what he had was serious . . . .

  5. Paula Basso Says:

    Tito molinari, Maestro de maestros, “Poéta y bailarín de tango”, como el se autodefinia. Un hombre inigualable, quien me enseño a bailar con elegancia y a pararme en una pista. Quien siempre me regalo una sonrisa y uan palabra de aliento aun en sus malos momentos.

    Quiero homenajearte con unos versos tuyos:

    Volar (fragmento).

    Ápartame de los vientos fuertes
    llevame donde soplen brisas suaves.
    Álejame de la oscuridad

  6. Paula Basso Says:

    Nunca olvidaran las noches de Buenos Aires a Tito Molinari.
    Maestro bailarin de Tango y Poeta excelso. Cada vez que suene Bahía Blanca de Disarli sabré que tu alma lo estará sintiendo. Gran Hombre, ejemplo de lucha hasta el final de su vida. Mi gran Amigo Tito.

    Saludos Analía.

Leave a Reply

