Ricardo Ponce

This photo and bio of  El Chino Perico was retrieved from the Academia de Estilos Tango Argentino website when the program was in existence for four years until November 2007.  I filmed him dancing an exhibition with Ada Peloso in Salon Canning several years ago.  I wanted to include him in my dedication to the milongueros.  The bio states he was born July 10, 1941, but anyone who knows him says he won’t admit his age.

The Buenos Aires daily newspaper CLARIN (08/08/99) quoted El Chino:  “Today, everybody dances the same.  I dance for fifty years, and I consider myself a milonguero–neither professional, dancer or anything else.  A milonguero knows all the orchestras, all the singers, he knows everything.”

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

